Sam Burns on wrong end of a questionable ruling
Digest more
Top News
Overview
Highlights
Open, Golf and Players
Digest more
Top News
Overview
Highlights
11h
Golf Digest on MSNU.S. Open 2025: Did Sam Burns get robbed of title shot by a 'temporary water' ruling?Like any savvy patient who gets a bad diagnosis, Sam Burns wanted a second opinion. When his drive on Oakmont’s par-4 15th hole stayed on the fairway next to the first cut, he seemed to catch a good break. But when Burns arrived at the ball, it looked and felt to him that it was sitting in standing water from the day’s earlier heavy rain storm.
Sam Burns revealed the role that his friend, Scottie Scheffler, has played in his career, including his status as the 54-hole leader of the 2025 U.S. Open.
15h
Golf Digest on MSNU.S. Open 2025: Sam Burns did something very clever that nobody else noticedIt just showed a clever bit of awareness and foresight. In the heat of the pressure and the pouring rain, Burns stopped himself from making a potentially very costly error. It was a small moment, but the kind of decision that wins U.S. Opens.
Burns converts the birdie following a brilliant tee shot on the par-3 13th. He’s at 4 under, one clear of playing competitor J.J. Spaun. The 44-year-old birdies the par-3 13th to get to 1 under. He’s two off the lead, seeking his second major title (2013 Masters).
Despite appealing to two USGA rules officials, Sam Burns was denied casual water relief on the 15th hole during the final round of the U.S. Open on Sunday and ended up double-bogeying.
1d
Field Level Media on MSNSam Burns stays one stroke ahead at U.S. OpenSam Burns saved par at the final hole after playing partner J.J. Spaun made bogey and earned a one-shot lead at the U.S. Open on Saturday at Oakmont Country Club.